I am here now..Are you,too?

To Aadya,

I am sorry,

For not being able to sit with you when you asked me to,

But trust me,

I would have, if I had seen it through!

I am sorry

If I haven’t kept in touch,

But I miss you, my friend

I miss you more than I can!

It’s just so lonely without you…it’s lonely deep inside,

I wish you were here..to help me keep it aside.

I laughed with you,

With you, I cried too

When I left, I felt lonely

And a part of me stayed with you.

You are the light,

That can fade away,

The dark that

Carries me away.

You are the calm,

That rests the thunder that happens deep inside,

With every memory

That brings back painful time.

You are the shelter

That sees the flood in my eyes

And the pain in my soul

And, once again, makes me feel whole.

Now I know

How George felt when Fred died

It’s like a part of him was carried away

With passing winds that blew.

And here I am now,

Reminiscing on the days

When we fought regularly

But forgot about it, the very next day!

The countless annual day practices,

The fun we had backstage

For which we were scolded too

But enjoyed it just the same!

Absence makes the heart realize it’s desire

But I have always treasured you

I just wish I had taken a bit more time

To express it too!

But, oh, it’s not too late,

For I will remember you

Every day, every night,

Without getting tired in a lifetime!

And like someone said before:

“It’s been a long day, without you my friend,

I will tell you all about it, when we meet again!”

I am here now, are you, too?


This poem is to my dear friend, Aadya. We were in the same school until last to last year to last year. I changed schools in Grade 5. Though we still talk, and even though we are still best friends, I miss her..it’s not easy being the new girl! Especially for a person like me!

63 thoughts on “I am here now..Are you,too?

Add yours

  1. This is very sweet. We all have that friend we don’t always talk to because time has passed but I’m sure when we get in touch with them they would be happy too. ❤ I kind of miss my friends too. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Of course you may, its no worries! ❤ Agree, this pandemic makes me long for my bestfriend and to think that she will soon graduate when this year ends I wouldnt have much time to hang out with her. 😦 But I guess that's okay because we can always talk to each other and maybe see each other once in a while ❤ Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You should definitely tell her how you feel! Did you share this poem with her? I can already say she would be really touched! Friendships are hard but that’s what makes them beautiful. Your poem is beautiful,I can feel the emotion all the way through!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started